Where Can You Get Diver Certification?

Any individual who wishes to dive independently must have a certification. A diver certification or C-card is a document that indicates you have gone through the entire training process to fulfill all required obligations.

In most cases, the C-card is in the form of a wallet sized plastic card.

Normally, it is only those with this certification document who can:

  • Book a dive trip
  • Hire diving equipment and accessories
  • Fill diving cylinders, etc.

Diving certifications are issued by several agencies and it depends on the level of training.

Still, even if you go for this training in a different diving center, the certification documents tend to have the same features.

Features/Details of a Diver Certification

Since this is a unique document that certifies you have attended all the necessary training, it should have the following:

  • Both name and logo of the certifying institution or organization
  • Unique serial or reference number
  • Name and photograph of the C-card owner
  • Type of diving certification; this may include basic, open water, special skill or advanced training
  • Date of certification
  • Instructors’ details

Generally, these are the main details a diver certification card should have.

However, the process of being a certified diver will depend on the institution that offers the training. So, I think it will be better if we focus on where you can get the certification.

How to Get a Diver Certification

You can get a diving certification from any of the following diving organizations or agencies:

1.      Professional Association of Diving Instructors (PADI)

PADI is one of the most popular dive certification agencies in the United States. It offers a wide range of diving courses with flexible schedules.

Official PADI Website

Since it was established in 1966, PADI centers are widely spread across the globe. Currently, most beginner divers are certified by PADI.

2.      National Association of Underwater Instructors (NAUI)

The NAUI is one of the oldest diver certification agencies. It offers dive lessons that are similar to those of PADI.

NAUI Official website

This is a non-profit organization that was established to promote safety in the diving industry. Since, it was established, the team is constantly working to improve diving safety.

If offers different levels of diving certifications. It is a U.S.A. based agency.

3.      The World Underwater Federation/ Confédération Mondiale des Activités Subaquatiques (CMAS)

The CMAS is based in France and it is the umbrella organization for diving training institutions. It was established in 1958 and it offers guidelines on both training and qualification of divers.